ElectricalPanelUpgrade.net
An AeqR network property

HomeGuides

Homeowner guide

Electrical permits by town: Fairfield County and Milford

Published 2026-09-10 · Fairfield County, CT · Every figure below carries a dated source at the end of the page.

Short version. Every town requires an electrical permit and a final inspection for a panel, service, charger or generator job. Fees are value-based and small — a $3,500 panel upgrade costs roughly $75 in Trumbull, $105 in Stamford, $135 in Bridgeport, $150 in Danbury. Seven of these twelve towns are United Illuminating territory; the rest are Eversource. Figures below are quoted from each town's own schedule with its date; where a town publishes nothing, we say so.
TownDepartmentHow to fileElectrical permit feeWho may pullInspectionsElectric utility
TrumbullBuilding Dept, 5866 Main St · 203-452-5020ViewPoint Cloud (trumbullct.viewpointcloud.com)$5 per $100 on first $1,000, then $10 per $1,000; $60 min; + $10 processing, $10 C/O, $0.26/$1,000 state fee (schedule undated)Owner-occupant of a non-rented home may pull; otherwise CT-licensedPhone 203-452-5020, inspector hours 7:30–10 AM; no voicemail requestsUI (application has a "UI #" field)
FairfieldBuilding Dept, 725 Old Post Rd · 203-256-3036CitySquared (since 3/1/2022)$58.26 first $1,000 + $16.26 each $1,000 after, incl. $0.26 state fee (as of April 1, 2024)Not stated onlineCall 203-256-3036, 9–10 AM day-of for a slotUI
StratfordBuilding Official, 2725 Main St · 203-385-4010ViewPoint Cloud (stratfordct.viewpointcloud.com)$5 per $100 on first $1,000, then $10 per $1,000 (code amended 6-30-2014)Not stated onlineNot stated onlineUI
BridgeportBuilding Dept, 45 Lyon Terrace Rm 222 · 203-576-7225Park City Portal (Tyler EnerGov)$60 first $1,000 + $30 per $1,000 after; $40 for jobs ≤$500 (schedule effective 5/18/2016)CT-licensed, or owner who permanently resides in a single-family homeNot stated onlineUI — UI Work Order # required for service work; permits denied if taxes/WPCA delinquent
SheltonBuilding Dept, 54 Hill St 3rd Fl · 203-924-1555 x1517ViewPoint Cloud (sheltonct.viewpointcloud.com)No schedule published onlineNot stated onlineInspector office hours Tue–Fri 8–9, 1–2, 4:30–5UI
EastonBuilding Dept, 225 Center Rd · 203-268-6291 x107/x111GovWell (app.govwell.com/easton, since Sept 2, 2025)No electrical schedule published onlineNot stated onlineCall x111; virtual or in personUI
MonroeBuilding Dept, 7 Fan Hill Rd · 203-452-2805OpenGov (monroect.portal.opengov.com); card/ACH$5 per $100 on first $1,000, then $10 per $1,000 (code amended 1-11-1988)Not stated onlinePhone 203-452-2805Eversource
NorwalkBuilding & Code Enforcement, 125 East Ave Rm 123 · 203-854-7755; electrical inspector 203-854-7968PDF application emailed to the trade inspector (no portal)$18 per $1,000 + $0.26 state fee; $100 minimum (Feb 1, 2021 schedule)Applicant certifies owner of record or authorized agentCall/email inspector; allow 24 business hours; trade inspectors 8:30–10:30 AMEversource, SNEW or ENEW
StamfordBuilding Dept, Government Center (phone not retrievable from site)ViewPoint Cloud (stamfordct.viewpointcloud.com)$13 per $1,000 of value, $60 min, + $0.26/$1,000 state feeNot stated onlineOnline only — select the record, then the "Inspection" step; not until fees paidEversource
WestportBuilding Dept, 515 Post Rd E 2nd Fl · 203-341-5025Accela (aca-prod.accela.com/WESTPORT)$10 per $1,000 + $0.26 state tax; service work $20 min up to $2,000 (effective Jan 1, 2012)Sub-permit form asks for contractor licenseContractor calls 203-341-5025Eversource
DanburyBuilding Dept, 155 Deer Hill Ave · 203-797-4580; inspections 203-797-4581; electrical 203-796-8041OpenGov (danburyct.portal.opengov.com)$100 application (covers first $1,000) + $16 per $1,000 after + $0.26/$1,000 state fee (effective July 2, 2025)Not stated onlineInspections line 203-797-4581; portal shows results in real timeEversource
MilfordBuilding Inspection, 70 West River St · 203-783-3234CitySquared$20 first $1,000 + $15 each $1,000 after, state fee included (effective 1/6/2020)Not stated onlineCall 24 hours ahead minimum; GC calls for all subs; daily list ~9 AMUI

Worked fee examples on a $3,500 panel upgrade

Against a $2,800–$4,500 job, the permit is 1–4% of the cost. What it buys is a state-licensed inspector confirming the grounding, the AFCI/GFCI count and the surge device before the utility reseals the meter — and a record that survives the sale of the house.

The utility step the permit doesn't cover

A permit authorizes the work; it does not disconnect the power. For a service upgrade in Eversource territory, the electrician must obtain an Eversource service request number at least 15 days before starting and complete the job within 60 days. In United Illuminating towns the contractor files a Service Location Request, gets a UI job number (Bridgeport requires it on the permit application), and UI installs the meter after the town's inspection is posted. How the utility step works →

Who is allowed to do the work

Electrical work in Connecticut requires a license under CGS §20-334. An E-1 unlimited electrical contractor may perform and contract for all electrical work; an E-2 journeyperson may perform it only while employed by a licensed contractor (CT DCP license scope page). The homeowner exemption in CGS §20-340(11) covers owner-occupied single-family homes, subject to the local building official's inspection and the State Building Code. Check any contractor's license at the CT eLicense site before signing.

Ready for a real number?

Planning ranges are not quotes. A licensed Connecticut electrician prices your panel after seeing it.

Request a free estimate →
Sources (checked 2026-09-10)
  1. Trumbull Building Dept + fee schedule — https://www.trumbull-ct.gov/DocumentCenter/View/6365/Permit-Fee-Schedule-pdf — no date on page
  2. Fairfield Building Permits — https://www.fairfieldct.gov/service/building_department/building_permits/index.php — page dated 2024-04-01
  3. Stratford code — permit fees — https://ecode360.com/9048791 — page dated 2014-06-30
  4. Bridgeport fee schedule (PDF) — https://www.bridgeportct.gov/sites/default/files/2023-03/Bldg_2016_05_18_Fee_Schedule.pdf — page dated 2016-05-18
  5. Bridgeport electrical permit page — https://www.bridgeportct.gov/government/departments/building-department/electrical-permit — no date on page
  6. Shelton online permitting — https://cityofshelton.org/p/online-permitting — no date on page
  7. Easton Building — https://eastonct.gov/1228/Building — no date on page
  8. Monroe code — permit fees — https://ecode360.com/11811728 — page dated 1988-01-11
  9. Norwalk building fees 2021 (PDF) — https://www.norwalkct.gov/DocumentCenter/View/29063/Building-Fees-2021 — page dated 2021-02-01
  10. Stamford building permit fees — https://www.stamfordct.gov/government/operations/building-department/building-permit-fees — page dated 2026
  11. Westport fee schedule — https://www.westportct.gov/government/departments-a-z/building-department/fee-schedule — page dated 2012-01-01
  12. Danbury permit price list 2025 (PDF) — https://www.danbury-ct.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5922/PERMIT-PRICE-LIST-2025 — page dated 2025-07-02
  13. Milford permit fee schedule (PDF) — https://www.milfordct.us/DocumentCenter/View/452/Permit-Fee-Schedule-PDF — page dated 2020-01-06
  14. United Illuminating service area — https://www.uinet.com/w/service-area — no date on page
  15. CGS §20-340 homeowner exemption — https://law.justia.com/codes/connecticut/title-20/chapter-393/section-20-340 — page dated 2024
  16. CT DCP electrical license types and scope — https://portal.ct.gov/dcp/occupational-and-professional-division/occupational--profess/electrical-license-types-and-scope-of-work — no date on page

Questions homeowners ask

Can I pull the permit myself?

Connecticut law (CGS §20-340) exempts work "in and about single-family residences owned and occupied" by the person doing it, subject to inspection. Trumbull and Bridgeport state this on their forms; most other towns do not address it online. A panel or service upgrade also involves the utility cut-and-reconnect, which only a licensed E-1/E-9 electrician may perform.

What is the $0.26 per $1,000?

The Connecticut state education fee collected with every building permit and remitted to the state. Some towns list it separately; Milford folds it into its rate.

How long does inspection take?

Milford requires 24 hours notice; Norwalk asks for 24 business hours; Fairfield and Trumbull book by phone in a morning window. No town publishes a guaranteed turnaround. For a panel replacement the meter is not resealed until the inspection passes, so schedule it the same day where the town allows.

Get a real number for your house

One licensed Connecticut electrician calls you back. Never sold to a list.

No obligation. Submitting does not opt you in to text messages; texting is a separate, optional checkbox on the form. See Privacy and Terms.

Currently fulfilled by: R. Piro Electric LLC · CT license ELC.0200504-E1 · (203) 880-5995 · Fairfield County and New Haven County, Connecticut.
ElectricalPanelUpgrade.net is an AeqR network property. Requests are routed to one licensed Connecticut electrical contractor; provider assignment may change. Provider facts verified 2026-09-05.
Request a free estimate →